Poems · Uncategorized

Year 2011 (poem)

Had the strangest feeling of going back to 2011

I was 18 and a sheltered princess

Same year I went to New York for the first and only time

Also the year my world turned to pieces

 

I was naive and young and free

Parts of it still live in my dreams

Haunting me uncontrollably

This is what that year did to me

 

Let me go, Let me go

I don’t want to know, know

Why 2011 still lives, sinks

In my heart and memories

 

Had the strangest feeling of being trapped in 2011

I didn’t know what that year would bring me

So many regrets yet I can’t help to think

Who would I be without my mistakes at eighteen

 

I was naive and young and free

My 18 still living in me

Hurt, experience, wild, fear, peace

That is what that year did to me

 

Let me go, Let me go

I don’t want to know, know

Why 2011 still lives, sinks

In my heart and memories

Let me go, I don’t want to know

2011, still haunting me

In my heart and memories

 

Its a stamp on my head

Its like a sign of regret

With experience in life

I don’t know whats in my head

Why does this year affect me

Afraid that it will forever define me

Or made me stronger somehow

2011

The year of regret

The year of growth

The year that opened up a world

At the same time it put me in hell

2011 nothing like heaven

But it defines me

When I was 18

Leave a Reply

