Poems · Uncategorized

Grass Is Greener

I don’t mean to be offensive

But I feel trapped in the city that watched me grow

I want to escape every day

I feel like its holding me back

Don’t want to sound like I’m above it all

Because I’m really not above anyone

 

I’ll fall in love with the city lights

But not tonight not tonight

Born on the wrong side of the tracks

Crime at night, I mean every night

Under the city lights, city lights

 

I don’t mean to come off as a know it all

Especially when I know nothing at all

The mothers cry as the fathers leave

The kids can’t seem to change a thing

And everyone is stuck on a cycle, repeat

 

We are born where we die

Same street, same misery

Same tears that my mother cried

Same job that my dad denied

 

I’ll fall in love with the city lights

But not tonight not tonight

Born on the wrong side of the tracks

Crime at night, I mean every night

Under the city lights, city lights

 

I admit I hate it

I’ll fall in love with the city lights

But not tonight not tonight

Born on the wrong side of the tracks

Crime at night, I mean every night

Under the city lights, city lights

 

I want to run away from this town

I want to go to the place where

Money talks and I’ve made enough to make the rounds

The grass is greener on the other side

Thats where I want to go

To the place where I won’t have to hide

I don’t mean to sound ignorant

I simply hate this place, its misery

Leave a Reply

